Skip to content

Tom Tom

April 10, 2013

This weekend Charlottesville will host the second annual Tom Tom Founders Festival. I do not know what this is. Last year it seemed to be a music festival. This year there is some music, but not a whole lot. The schedule looks a bit like the schedule of local events that you see every week in the newspaper, except with more people talking about innovation. I am not a fan of innovation myself, because I am still trying to catch up to 1996. If everything had just stayed where it was that year then I think I might now be starting to get the hang of things. But those fucking innovators keep on moving the target, so I am always hopelessly behind. Does the world really need a Cheese Tim Tam? Ask the Indonesians, but I think the answer may be no. Perhaps it is time we learned to love the cookies we have, and stop chasing after the cookies of the future.

It looks like Tom Tom is all about the next Tim Tam, and the hope that that Tim Tam will come from right here in Charlottesville, a new hub of Tim Tam technology and innovation, both networked and artisinal. I can’t help but be reminded of the Talk Talk song “Dum Dum Girl,” with its prescient warning against innovation in the field of stick-supported confectionery. Let Tom Tom learn from Talk Talk, and leave our Tim Tams alone, lest they go the way of Dum Dums.

Nonetheless, I encourage my readers, both of them, to check out the TTFF website. Almost all the events are free and open to the general public, and some good, if not innovative, times might be had.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

